Arcade Fever

I’m still sorting pictures from Hokkaido, so I’ll just post some random memories saved on my cell. A few weeks ago I went bowling for the first time in Japan! And I tied for the win! I was so sad as a kid when the one arcade left in town shutdown. I used to spend some great afternoons at the mall with my mom and dad playing whack-a-mole and skiball. In Japan though, arcades are still very much in fashion. They have everything from token fair games, to Mario Kart and DDR, bowling, to a plethora of crane machines. It’s pretty common knowledge that I have a slight addiction to crane machines. While I love having so many options and opportunities with the constantly updated inventories of plush toys and many venues scattered throughout every major city, my wallet does not. Looking at the glass half full, at least I win a lot. Practice makes perfect.

 

In the next week I’ll find out how much my frustration and dissatisfaction with the Japanese style of collegiate education affected my grades. Fingers crossed. I’ll own up to not being as successful at adapting as I probably could’ve been, but I’m confident about next semester. It’s weird officially being on spring break that lasts for multiple months. I’m getting travel plans finalized in the last couple days for my mother’s arrival in March, and a trip that’ll wind through Taiwan, Singapore, and Thailand.

111 Pro Tip #40: Japan is not a cheap place to travel to or within. Advance planning is crucial. I booked everything for my Yuki Matsuri trip to Hokkaido three months in advance, and probably should’ve done so earlier but it all worked out great. Some friends I know though had flights and were unable to find lodging over a month in advance, and thus had to cancel their flights. Other crucial times to plan for are Golden Week and Cherry Blossom season. My mother will be here during the latter, and I was too overwhelmed with school and such to do much in January. Kyoto was the hardest and most expensive place to book for her trip just under two months in advance. Lesson learned.

Leave a comment